top of page
Home: Welcome
Home: Blog2
Search
  • Writer's pictureCarli Krogen

Top 10 best skin care secrets~

I used to consistently sleep in my make up . . . like multiple times a week . . . there I said it. And it wasn't that long ago, it wasn't until the end of 2018 that I really educated myself on the importance of a natural, effective, consistent skin care routine.

Since then, it's been a little over a year and half of researching natural products, lifestyle changes and methods. Even how our skin health is directly linked with our bodies health.


While studying at CSNN (Canadian School of Natural Nutrition), I made the connection between my dry, acne prone skin with deficiencies and excess of nutrients in my diet. Some of the harsh products I was using, contained toxins like E.D.C's (Endocrine Disrupting Chemicals) that could be contributing to imbalance in my endocrine system (hormones, reproductive organs, adrenals). As well considering the stress I was under at the time may all have resulted in skin my concerns.


These concerns I was experiencing and more may contribute to unwanted symptoms such as excess oil, extreme dryness, acne, texture, etc in our skin.


Through nourishing my skin inside and out, and maintaining positive lifestyle habits.

I now have the glowiest, clearest, best skin I have ever had at 22 years old.


It's been a looong journey to get here,

So I wanted to streamlined my best information into this blog post for you. Whether you are skin care junkie like me these recent years, or if you are curious to find out how to take better care of your skin, and your body.


Here are my best best best top 10 skin care secrets :


1.) take off your make up at night . . . twice. That's right people! The double cleanse regime is the way to go. The first cleanse is to remove the make-up and dirt. The second cleanse is to remove and excess oil, and clean our deep into our pores, and remove left over impurities.

I've had the best luck using a oil cleanser first, squalene or avocado oil based. This pulls the dirt and make up out of the face. You can literally see the make up melting. I like to follow up with a water based cleanser. Cleaning our skin twice, twice a day is important to remove oil, dirt, and toxins from our face to keep our skin healthy and fresh. I'm currently using Cocokinds facial cleansing oil, and following up with their oil to milk cleanser.


(skin tip:) - I like use lukewarm water when cleansing my skin, this works best to cleanse. Too hot can lead to damaging our skin cells, too cold can result in not as deep of a clean. So modestly warmish water is just perfect!


2.) Get yo' self a silk pillow case! Trust me, other than the silk feeling super luxurious and bougee, it levels up your skin game by:


~creating less friction with your face and the case which provides less tension and tugging which means.. less wrinkles!

~the silk absorbs less of your skin care (compared to cotton), so the products can better absorb into your face (not your case) over night as intended.


(skin tip:) getting at leased 7 hours of beauty sleep per night is so important for hydrated, clear skin. And clean those cases often! Our pillow cases can harbor bacteria, which can lead to break outs.


3.) Use products with natural, high quality ingredients. Natural products with quality ingredients are healthier for us. Inside and out. However, marketing can be sneaky. It seems like every product these days has "Natural" on the label . . . and they can because the word natural is not regulated! That's right . . . the products we use every single day can contain harmful chemicals labeled as 'natural'.

More on how to look out for chemicals in number 4,


Some of my fav current non-toxic products and their quantity ingredients are:


~ Cocokinds vitamin C serum. Vitamin C is an antioxidant that can replenished skin that is exposed to the sun, aging, pollutants, etc. This serum uses ascorbyl phosphate which is one of the most gentle forms of vitamin C for the skin. (so gentle, you can use it twice a day)


~ The sea kale clay mask in collaboration with Jeannette Ogden (or shut the kale up on insta).

Jeannette has inspired me a ton since I started following her on Instagram. When I found out her and my fav brand skin care Cocokind were collaborating, I literally jumped for joy.

The mask is so fun to apply and is rich in quality ingredients like blue sea kale providing lots of antioxidants. Glacial oceanic clay to reduce excess sebum to refine texture. Cumber seed powder that gentle exfoliates to remove dead skin and debris, as well as soothes the skin.


~Rose water toner by Cocokind, made with 100% steam - distilled rose hydrolsol. Toning is the first step after cleansing to remove any left over oils, impurities, and cleanser still on the skin. Toner acts as a skin care "primer" for better absorption of oils. Hydrating, and regulating skin with a PH of 5.5.


(skin tip:) I set my natural make up look with the rose water toner, and a spray it on my face as a hydrating refresher through out the day.


4.) Educating myself on the names and effects of toxic ingredients, what to look for and look out for! Toxic ingredients can contribute to hormone imbalances, which over time can lead to unfavorable skin issues and imbalance in the body.

Ingredients in skin / body / home care I now try to avoid :


* Parabens - have the ability to bind to estrogen receptors in the body. Which can contribute to hormone imbalances and acne.

* Phthalates (found in the plastic of containers, so they don't have to be on the label) Can be irritating to the skin, and contribute to imbalance in the body. Look for products using glass containers, it is more environmentally friendly, and less toxic.


* Fragrance / parfume. Companies have the ability to list all fragrant ingredients under the ingredient lable 'parfume' or 'fragrance' to 'protect trade secrets'. As a consumer, this means you are unable to read all the ingredients and you are less able to make an educated decision. It could contain 2 toxic ingredients, or 200. I represents a lack of transparency from the brand. Also can be sensitizing and irritating to the face. I avoid it.


(skin tip:) There are helpful apps and websites out there that help you become your own toxic ingredient detective. By rating products, explaining ingredients, etc.

I use the free app 'think dirty'. I also really like the website 'Paula's choice ingredient dictionary.'


5.) Use a Gua sha. That green odd looking jade stone in a bunch of insta stories, that is my beloved gua sha. I know what your probably thinking. . . Gua What? Trust me I didn't know until I knew . . . and now that I know, I won't EVER go back.


The gua sha has been used in Asia for hundreds of years to enhance contours of the face, and promote lymphatic drainage.

Although contours in the gua sha face tool do enhance the natural contour of the face, I use it mostly for the benefit of:

Lymphatic drainage

Our lymphatic system is tissues and organ systems working together to assist in ridding the body of toxins.

Gliding the stone in an upward motion on the oiled face, and downward the neck allows lymphatic fluid to circulate. Which contributes to supporting the immune system, detoxification, and clear glowing skin.


Not to mention it is a totally meditative, relaxing, and luxury spa like experience. I love taking my time with it.

You can find them online, I've seen them at places like winners too.. I highly highly recommend!


6.) Consume a nourishing diet abundant in skin supporting nutrients such as:


* Biotin (vitamin B 7)

* Vitamin A

* Selenium

* Vitamin C

* Zinc

* Vitamin E


A whole food, plant rich diet provides a ton of fiber, nutrients, and hydration to support a nourished body inside and out.


A spectacular food for the skin is Brazil nuts! They are high in selenium.

Best part is you only 1 per day to meet your selenium recommendations and they are fairly common to find at most grocery stores (they kinda look like the mix between a kidney bean and a huge long hazle nut, with the texture of a macadamia, they are so so yummy!)


Raw Brazil nuts contain selenium, which is super important for glutathione ("master antioxidant") production,

As well as Antioxidants from Vitamins A and E found in the nut,

which are important to neutralize free radicals (which contributes to the deterioration of collagen) in the body to help reduce dryness, and reduce fine lines for younger healthier looking and feeling skin.

They even contain fatty acids . . .


7.) Polyunsaturated fatty acids:

I've been including a dollop a day of polyunsaturated fatty acids (or PUFAs) in my diet ... and on my skin! For a while now because,


Polyunsaturated fat also known as 'Essential fats' are found in foods like walnuts, flax seeds, and chia seeds. They contain the essential nutrient omega 3, which has been studied to reduce inflammation, decrease the occurrence of clogged pores, and support the endocrine system, therefore contributing to nourished, soothed, supple skin. It is vital we get omega 3 in our diet through food or supplementation form,


Follow my instagram @carlisunshines for healthy skin supporting snacks and recipes.


8.) Face OIL : I really don't know why it took 2 decades before anyone told me about the life changing magic of using a face oil. But now that I know, I am never evvver going back.


The chia seed face oil was one of the first Cocokind products i ever purchased and it changed my whole entire skin care game over night and sparked a passion for quality skin care with in me.

Polyunsaturated oils nourish our skin with vitamins and minerals. As well as hydrate and protect. I find they lock in my serums and boosters into my skin so they can absorb effectively. They work soooo much better for me than a moisturizer ever did. And they don't leave me feeling greasy or make my skin break out at all.

If you are looking the get started, from Cocokind I adore using the:

* Golden Elixir - light weight and rich in vitamins A & E

* Chia seed oil - rich in omega 3 fatty acid to reduce inflammation

* Facial repair oil - abundant in rosehip, coconut, and avocado oils to deeply nourish and hydrate


(skin tip:) mix a lil toner into your hands and face oil before applying to the face. This thins the oil making it feel so much lighter on the face. It even makes the oil absorb into the skin a lil faster.


9.) drink like a ton a ton of watttter.


Okay, we all knew this one was coming. I feel like it's so cliche but i couldn't not put it in here. Water is just too damn important. Our skin is the biggest organ in our body. We are made of over 70% water. If we our dehydrated, our skin will show it by being dull, brittle, dry, or it can negatively impact our ability to detoxify toxins in the body. Our body releases toxins through our skin, if we are not getting enough water in, it may result in excess oil production, texture, and more blemishes.

Being well hydrated improves skins elasticity, contributing to less wrinkles. Being well hydrated in general is good for ever aspect of our body inside and out.


Every persons water requirements differentiate from day to day, I recommend using a 'water calculator' online to see a estimate of how much you should be getting in a day.


Pro tip: every time you do your skin care routine, guzzle a big glass of water as a part of the routine. This encourages hydration. Extra points (and benefits) if you add some vitamin C (antioxidant rich) lemon.


10.) reduce stress


When the body or mind is under stress, it produces the hormone cortisol. Cortisol can affect other hormones, and contribute to more oily and over all imbalanced skin. As well as mess with the endocrine system as a whole which can lead to hormonal imbalance and unfavorable skin symptoms like acne.


Including more stress reducing activities such as :


* yoga

* mediation

* mineral baths

* fun movement

* gratitude journaling

* nourishing meals and snacks

* and a fun, relaxing skin care routine


Into my daily life has all contributed to lower stress, and better skin.


A major aspect of becoming less stressed for me has been,


To unconditionally accept myself inside an out.


To not let a zit or two hold me back or shake my confidence. To feel confident in my skin, and know that my best traits have absolutely nothing to do with what I look like. Showing up for myself, and my health every single day has boosted my confidence in myself more then any face lotion, oil, or make up product ever ever will.


Understanding, that true beauty truly begins from with in.


I wish I had known that when I was a bit younger. Real people love you for who you are. Kindness, generosity, compassion, discipline, confidence, intelligence, and creativity are so so so so sooo much more important than what you, or I, looks like.


Adore the person you are right now,


& love the skin you are in ! ! !





~Carli Krogen~ Certified in Holistic Nutrition



You can find all the products I mentioned today at https://www.cocokind.com/collections/all


This blog post is intended for education, and entertainment use only. I am not a dermatologist. Please consult with your physician to discuss what is best for your bio-individual skin and body. Thank you so much for reading feel free to send me a message here, or slide into my DM's on Instagram if you have any questions.





45 views1 comment

Recent Posts

See All

Subscribe

Home: Subscribe

Contact

Thanks for submitting!

Smiles for miles 😁😁
Home: Contact
bottom of page